Blackness / Books / Life

What are you reading?

I love to read about blackness, what it means to be black, anything that challenges my mind and my perspectives. I bought a book a couple months ago and have been reading it here and there yet every time I pick it up, I have to force myself to put it down. I wish I had more time to read but my work schedule keeps me busy. Anyway, the book is “Who’s Afraid of Post Blackness? What It Means To Be Black Now” by Touré. I believe this book was published a few years back but I recently discovered this gem. What I love about this book (so far) is that Touré uses examples that are so common and well-known in the black community, it makes it easy to connect with what he is saying and/or question his point of view. If you haven’t heard of this book, you should definitely check it out.

Have any of you read this book? What are/were your thoughts? Any suggestions as to what I should read when I finish this one? Let me know! Maybe we’ll start a book club!

toure

What do you think?

