Books / Life

What are you reading?

I know I’m a little late on this one however, my current read is Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell. This is the first book I’ve read by him but MAN, it is pretty awesome! I purchased it on my iphone months ago and never read it. I tried to start once and I just couldn’t get into reading on my phone, not to mention the first few pages didn’t grab my interest. Anyway, I tried again a couple weeks ago and I am LOVING it. He uses such great examples and detail that it just kept me wanting more. Some parts make me think “Ok get to the point already!” but that’s just me complaining. 🙂 I would definitely recommend this book to anyone that is interested in why some people are so successful and others are not. I truly believe that people are the products of their environment and this book explains just that.

The book I read prior to Outliers was #GIRLBOSS by Sophia Amoruso. O.M.G. I loved it! I don’t even know where to start. Literally picked this one up from B&N one night (hardcopy, yes!), started reading it the next morning, finished it the next night. I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN! One interesting thing that stood out to me that wouldn’t particularly stand out to anyone else- she lived in Sacramento for awhile. Ohhhh, the 916 (insert sigh of endearment). Ok I’ll stop. Anyway, her story kept me intrigued with the way she told her story so bluntly and the fact she really didn’t know what she was doing but worked hard and made a multimillion dollar company out of an eBay vintage store she started while living in a pool house- I just loved it. There wasn’t much actual advice given, it wasn’t super feminist-y (yep, made that word up), it was just a story about her unconventional path to success. Anyway, it was an entertaining read and if you’re into reading about taking control of your life, being young, hip, and unapologetically yourself, Amoruso if your go to gal- NastyGal that is!

What do you think?

